Seasonal Reading

I am currently reading Dreamers by Angela Hunt. Why? Well, because it’s Fall, of course.
photo 2 Let me explain. I have a book I read for every season. Actually, I have multiple. Every Spring, for example, I read the Mark of the Lion series by Francine Rivers. (Well, at least the first two books.) Come Summer, I read The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and Legend by Marie Lu. When Summer ends and the leaves begin to turn, I start thinking about this series by Angela Hunt called Legacies of the Ancient River. In the fall I read Dreamers and Brothers, and come Christmas, it’s time to read the third book, Journey.

Granted, I might not read ALL of these books EVERY year, but when the seasons change, I can’t help but feel nostalgic for the stories of that season. I think it has something to do with that season being the first time I read those books.

I read The Hungers Games in May, and now whenever the weather gets warm, I have flashbacks to District 12 and the Games. Journey has absolutely nothing to do with Christmas. In fact, the story takes place in a hot desert. But the first time I read it was during Christmas break in high school. I curled up on the couch by the fire, with Christmas music playing in the background and a cinnamon candle lit nearby. And now whenever I hear Christmas music, I think of a prince who lives in the desert, preparing to lead his people back to their homeland.

Books to me are like music. There’s a genre for every season. (Country for Summer, mellow for Fall, and of course, Christmas for the first half of Winter.) I guess it helps me transition with the seasons.

What about you? Do you have any special books/music you reserve for each season?

2 thoughts on “Seasonal Reading

Leave a Reply

