Introducing the Teeranie

This is a teeranie.



 Well, actually, it’s a pecari, a very friendly warthog-like animal native to South America. But it inspired a species of carnivorous beasts in my novel. They’re called  teeranies.

The pecari is almost a spitting image of the teeranie–– coarse black fur, long snout, about the size of a medium-sized dog. The difference between the two animals? Imagine the teeranie with no eyes, a pointier snout, and quite a few more razor sharp teeth lining the jaw. Oh, and claws.

Also, the pecari in this picture doesn’t display the characteristics of a teeranie, either. If you were to attempt to pet a teeranie, for example, it would snap at you hand in a second and never leg go.

Why did I create the teeranies?  My story takes place on a communist/dystopian planet, called Tavdora, where certain beliefs are forbidden. I wanted it to be similar to Ancient Rome, where christians were sent to the lions. Except, I didn’t want lions. I wanted something original, something native to this planet I’d created. And I didn’t want the prisoners sent to an arena, I wanted them sent out to the wilderness at night, where it was dark and scary and the only sounds they heard were the shrieking growls and shuffling steps of the nearing creatures coming to claim their victims.

So I created teeranies.

Teeranies are nocturnal. They’re known to tear any living thing apart and they hunt in large packs like wolves. They nest on the border of the Crecian Desert, in a place called the Wilderness of Teeranies. What happens when you disrupt an animal’s nest? The animal becomes defensive, angry. Almost rabid. On Tavdora, those claiming belief in Elohim are sent to the Wilderness of Teeranies as a means of execution.

I wanted something that would strike fear in the reader. I don’t like the idea of people believing in God or Jesus  just because they feel guilt or fear hell or because their parents told them to believe. I think if you claim to be a christian, you should believe with every fiber of your being that Jesus is your hope, your peace, you ALL. Hell and fear have nothing to do with it.

On Tavdora, like Ancient Rome, you’re either all in or you’re all out when it comes to belief in Elohim, because if you’re all in, you risk a slow and painful death by teeranies. And yet, just like the Christians who lived in Ancient Rome, or those who live in closed countries today, there’s something beautiful and mysterious about believing with all their hearts, souls, and minds to the point that they don’t fear death because they know they’re leaving this world to go to an eternal paradise. They know that in living for Jesus, they’ve already lived life to the fullest.

And that’s why I created these vicious creatures.

So beware, my friends, if you ever set foot on the planet Tavdora, stay clear of the teeranies.

4 thoughts on “Introducing the Teeranie

  1. But are they tasty? (Thinking about roast Javelina in AZ-remind me to tell you the story about the drunken Javelina party under my window some time:D) Love your reference to the surety of Christian martyrs. I remember reading of the Protestants burned at the stake by Queen Mary I of England. They sang, many of them, until consumed by the flames, so secure were they in their faith.

    • You know, Hillari, none of my characters have actually tasted a teeranie, so I couldn’t tell you if it was tasty. I imagine it would be similar to dog meat, which I’ve sampled in China. Tough. Chewy. Not much flavor. I’ll see if I can bring some teeranie meat to the Mt. Hermon writers’ conference next year, and then you can try it. 😉 I’ve never tried roast Javelina before, you’ll definitely have to tell me that story sometime!
      On a more serious note, I used to read Jesus Freaks, and those martyrs’ stories never ceased to amaze me.

  2. Aw…I can’t imagine this guy being mean. he loved your attention…just look at his eyes. he sure was smelly though. Do teeranies smell bad?

Leave a Reply

